Mazi Afam Osigwe, SAN to Head the NBA-Annual General Conference 2023 Planning Committee Scheduled to Hold in Abuja, Nigeria


Mazi Afam Osigwe, SAN has been appointed the Chairman of the 2023 Annual General Conference Planning Committee (AGCPC) of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA). Mazi Afam who is a one time General Secretary of the Nigerian Bar Association is expected to bring his wealth of experience in Bar matters alongside thirty-seven (37) others appointed as members of the Annual General Conference Planning Committee (AGCPC) subject to ratification by NEC.

Below is the statement of the NBA President, Mr. Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, OON, SAN on the appointment.

Dear Colleagues,

You will recall that the 2023 Annual General Conference (AGC) is scheduled to hold from 25 August to 1 September 2023 in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, as approved by the National Executive Council (NEC) at its Quarterly Meeting held on 15 December 2022. In furtherance thereof, I have constituted the 2023 Annual General Conference Planning Committee (2023 – AGCPC), pursuant to Section 13(2) of the Constitution of the Nigerian Bar Association, 2015 (as amended in 2021), subject to ratification by NEC.
The Committee comprises the following:

  1. Mazi Afam Josiah Osigwe, SAN – Chairman
  2. Mrs Oyinkan Badejo-Okusanya – Alternate Chairman
  3. Olawale Fapohunda, SAN
  4. Abdul Rafindadi Mohammed, SAN
  5. Beatrice E. Jedy-Agba, OON, mni
  6. Lawan Kaka-Shehu
  7. Rhoda Prevail Tyoden
  8. Dr Agada Elachi
  9. Friday Ramses Onoja
  10. Mrs Amaka Uzuegbu
  11. Salman Alhaji Salman
  12. Mr Isaiah Bozimo (AG Delta)
  13. Laura Alakija – Secretary
  14. Dumo Ambie Barango
  15. Uchechukwu Humphrey Onyekachi
  16. Eva Amadi
  17. John Iyene Owuboki
  18. Mohammed Tajudeen Mohammed
  19. Dr. Banke Alogba
  20. Huwaila Ibrahim Muhammad
  21. Rashidat Mohammed
  22. Abdulrauf Tijani Aboki
  23. Tongshishak John Jude Danjuma
  24. Chika Eucharia Okorie
  25. Ada Ahubelem
  26. Afolabi Olayiwola
  27. Gloria Etim
  28. Deborah Usman
  29. Rotimi Olorunfemi
  30. Rex Erameh
  31. Matthew E. Osume
  32. Amina Suleyman Kaoje
  33. Sani Moyi
  34. Tosin Amadi
  35. Naomi Bankyu
  36. Augustine Ajineh
  37. H. Osayande Bazuaye


  1. NBA General Secretary
  2. Chairman NBA-SLP
  3. Chairman NBA-SPIDEL
  4. Chairman NBA-SBL
  5. Chairperson NBAWF
  6. Chairperson NBA-LWDF
  7. Chairman LOAN

The AGCPC is charged with the responsibility of delivering a memorable 63rd Annual General Conference for members of the NBA. The Committee has the liberty to co-opt additional members as the need arises. The theme, venue, and other details of the Conference will be announced in due course.

I thank the members of the Committee for accepting this call to serve our noble Association and enjoin us all to accord them the cooperation needed to deliver on their mandate.

Best regards,

Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, OON, SAN


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *